They found the note next to his lifeless body with a single rose over the neatly folder letter.

“This is an extreme step I am taking, I have no choice but to do what I have to do. I don’t have the courage to be the man you believed in.

I could not provide any comfort to you in my life and I am hoping that the circumstances change if I am not around.

After my accident I have become an additional burden on you as if taking care of the finances and being a working mom was not enough.

You are still young and very beautiful and our child is still young to retain any memories of a dad who was never around. Working when healthy and chair bound when not. I have never created any bonding with him for him to remember the special moments.

I wanted to give you the world when all you wanted was me, now I do not have much of myself to give either.

Forgive me for the cowardice, but facing your courage and love makes me want to free you from the shackles of being bound to me.

You deserve the best and I could not be that.

S”

She kept staring at the words, the words burned everything inside of her. Then she heard the child cry, it was hungry, she put the note on the table, put the rose on it and picked up her son, one life was gone but two still had to go on………

 

Cowardice

